The Great Convergence: How Biology and Engineering Unite to Reshape our World

Submitted by [email protected] on Fri, 10/16/2020 - 12:36 PM


Broadcast Date: October 28, 2020
Time: 8:00 am PT, 11:00 am ET, 17:00 CET

A century ago, innovations in physics came together with engineering to produce an astonishing array of new technologies: radios, telephones, televisions, planes, radar, nuclear power, computers, GPS systems, the Internet, and more. These technologies so reshaped our world that we now can’t conceive of life without them. Today we’re on the cusp of a new convergence—between biology and engineering—that has the potential to be every bit as revolutionary.

In this webinar—the third in the “Women in Science” series co-hosted by GEN and the Rosalind Franklin Society—renowned neuroscientist Dr. Susan Hockfield, who served as president of MIT from 2004–2012, will share her views of the future that she lays out in her recent book, The Age of Living Machines: How Biology Will Build the Next Technology Revolution.

Dr. Hockfield will assess several breathtaking new technologies, such as virus-built batteries, protein-based water filters, cancer-diagnosing nanoparticles, mind-reading bionic limbs, and computer-engineered crops. The development of these technologies, as Dr. Hockfield notes, is the scientific story of the 21st century—one that holds the promise of overcoming some of the greatest humanitarian, medical, and environmental challenges of our time.

Content Source: Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology News

Event Date: Wed, Oct 28 2020, 11am - 12pm