Central Africa establishes the Africa Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Regional Collaborating Centre to improve surveillance, preparedness and response to infectious and non-communicable diseases

The center will coordinate the efforts of Burundi, Cameroon, Congo, Gabon, Equatorial Guinea, Central African Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, Sao Tomé and Principe and Chad to strengthen surveillance, emergency response, and prevention of infectious diseases.